Lambrigg Black Jack Wins Highland Pony Society's 2008
Performance Awards


Higland Pony Society 2008 Perfirmance AwardsLambrigg Black Jack ridden by Christopher Grant was the winner of the Highland Pony Society's 2008 Performance Awards after collecting almost 4000 points more than his nearest rival. Christopher can certainly be proud as he finishing the year on 8,176 points, a total not bettered since 1995. The points were gained in a wide range of activities including dressage, cross country, show Jumping, WHP, many Pony Club activities including Pony Club Camp and qualifying for the National Intermediate Championships in Dressage. Christopher not only won a Bronze Medal from the HPS which he gets to keep, but also the Glenda Spooner Trophy for being the cverall winner, The Benny Trophy for the highest placed gelding, and The Rimond Cup for the highest placed junior rider.

2nd place in the competition went to Jackie Berry on Bluebell of Comberbank who gained a credible 3,405. Jackie and Bluebell had been placed 2nd or 3rd over the last 4 years and had sadly lost out on winning any silverware but this year, as the Highest Placed Mare, they carried off the Brownbread Rebecca Trophy.

In 3rd place was Sandy Mairs ridding Ailsa of Glenlomond who with 1,738 points just pipped Mrs P Robson and Quest of Mendick into 4th place by just 3 points! As the Highest Placed Newcomer Sandy Mairs won The Whitehope of Morag Salver as well as a £100.00 bursary to be used for riding lessons, while not to be outdone Mrs Robson won the a new The Whitehope of Morag Rosebowl for gained the most points from dressage competitions!

The full list of results are as follows:

 Position  Pony  Rider  Points Award 
1 LAMBRIGG BLACK JACK Christopher Grant 8,176 Glenda Spooner Trophy
Benny Trophy
Rimond Cup
2 BLUEBELL OF COMBEBANK Jackie Berry 3,405   Brownbread Rebecca Trophy
3 AILSA OF GLENLOMOND    Sandy Mairs 1,738   The Whitehope of Morag Salver + £100 Riding Lession 
4 QUEST OF MENDICK Mrs. P Robson  1,735 The Whitehope of Morag Rosebowl 
5 PHOEBE OF DINEFWR   Margaret Harfield 1,473   
6 CHALMADALE NA DAILACH   Chris Bassett   1,370   
7 GREADHAICH OF TALISKER Catriona Carnegie 1,222  
8 SPOTTISWOOD STRATHMORE Sara Chamberlain 1,031   
GLENBANCHOR BARRA Sara Chamberlain 1,028  
10 CLANDON LOVEDAY II   Jackie Berry 1,017   

The following ponies and riders also took part and were awarded rosettes

Burnside Erin  Jan Grant
Oakcroft Talisker Lynne Campbell 
Celia of Dykes  Judy Harwood 
(owned by Jane Fenton) 
Gemma Wiggins
Truim of Croila  Mrs Giles
Benspey Mitch Tracey Clarkson 
Langley Gipsy Legend  Alison Champion 
Chapelhill Ted  Anna Wedgwood 
Rignall Ruari  Caroline Harwood 
Lyncrest's Rhonda Lass  Michelle Cockburn 
 Summer of Torlundy Deirdre Robinson 
Hector of Langley  Sammy-Jo Grantham  
Whitehope Morag  Christopher Grant 


(c) Native Ponies Online 2008